Where Are Our Scholars Now?

The Feagin Leadership Program has helped launch our scholars into exciting careers in diverse fields, both within and beyond medicine. Below is a small sampling of the locations across the United States where our alumni continue to further the lessons and values of the program. 

feagin pages.jpg

2017 - 2018

Hassan Alkazemi

 Selena An 

Avionna Baldwin

 Rita Baumgartner

Megan Berube

Alexander Blood

Ciara Burgi

Kyle Duchman

Kyle Freischlag

Tony Fuller

Qimeng Gao

Brian Gilmore

Nathan Grimm

Aman Kansal

Devin Lemmex

Angela Li Pollack

Anthony Lin

Sunny Patel

Krystina Quow

Stephanie Roses

Amanda Sergesketter

Aarti Thakkar

Ashley Wietsma

Theresa Williamson

2016 - 2017

Rizwan Ahmed

 Doreen Chang  

Jennifer Chien

 Zach Christopherson

Ryan Coughlin

Tiffany Covas

Matthew Crawford

Bill Diplas

Drake Edwards

Aladine Elsamadicy

Valentine Esposito

Kim Hoang

Hanna Kemeny

  Jordan Komisarow

 Harold Leraas

Andrew Matson

Andrew McCrary

Dayne Mickelson

Uttara Nag

Colin O'Leary

Stephanie Pagliuca

Ben Parker

Michael Quist

Stephan Shaheen

2015 - 2016

Andrew Atia

Kevin Anderson

James Bailey

Swara Bajpai

Nikita Chapurin

Mary Cobb

Rui Dai

Kevin Dale

Travis Dekker

Kal Gunasingha

Amy Jones

Christohper Kim

Barrett Little

John McManigle

Timothy Miller

Michael Morwood

Michael Mulvihill

Kelly Murphy

Riika Nomides

Robert Sinyard

Stephen Smiley

Shanna Sprinkle

Nathan Waldron

Benjamin Wildman-Tobriner

2014 - 2015

James Choi

John Deans

Eduard Alentorn Geli

Matthew Kearney

Laura Musselwhite

Elizabeth Scott

Patricia Chu

Loretta Erhunmwunsee

Jonathan Godin

Tom Lefebvre

Maria Noviani

Joseph Stuart

Steven Cook

Norah Foster

Jennifer Huack

RosaMarie Maiorella

Colin Penrose

Malini Veerappan


2013 - 2014

Jon Andrews

Matthew Boyle

Kendall Bradley

Christopher Jones

Cameron Ledford

Liang Liu (Phillip)

Robin Mansour

Taylor McClellan

Thomas Mullin

Julie Neumann

Tara Ortiz

Jonathan Roth

Kathryne Stabile

Nicholas Tsipis

John Valvalle

Allison Webb

MengMeng Xu

John Yerxa

2012 - 2013

Alexander Chamessian

Bryan Choi

Kirema Garcia-Reyes

Thomas Haytmanek

Matthew Kanaan

Thomas Kreman

Nimit Lad

John Lewis

Jenna McNeill

William Mook

Daniel Scott

Abhay Singh

Patrick Siparsky

Ramon Ruberte Thiele

Nicki Zelenski

Milt Zgonis

2011 - 2012

Scott Adams

John Anderson

Mitchell Bassett

Jacob Berchuck

Kyle Gibler

Deeptee Jain

Stephanie Mayer

Ankit Mehta

Shannon O'Connor

Anupam Pradhan

Grant Sutter

Nicholas Viens

2010 - 2011

Chris Brown

Daniel Brown

Luis Carrilero

Katherine Coyner

Matthew Crowe

Daniel Heckman

Christopher Hostler

Joshua Lacsina

Christopher Manz

Eziamaka Okafor

Bret Peterson

Matthew Posner

Navid Pourtaheri

Carolyn Sangokoya

Brian Schwab

Donna Simmons

Cameron Williams


How has the Feagin Program Personally Impacted Scholars?



The steadfast guidance and training I received in the Feagin Leadership Program allowed me to develop into a more authentic, impactful, and intentional leader. The growth that this program facilitated has permeated far beyond my life in the hospital, and I am incredibly grateful for it."

-Valentine Esposito, F'17

MD Candidate, Duke School of Medicine

MHS Candidate, Clinical Research Training Program, Duke University

President, SOM Davison Council


"The Feagin Leadership Program taught me that it is my duty to my patients to continually self-reflect and try to improve core leadership domains like emotional intelligence, communication, and teamwork, and that this learning is as important, if not more important, than my ongoing medical learning as an anesthesiologist. The program led me to discover that leadership development is one of my passions. In the next year I will be implementing a leadership program for our anesthesia residents. I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to be part of this inspiring Feagin family."

- Jennifer Hauck, MD, F'15

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology

Duke University School of Medicine

Feagin Leadership Advisory Board Member


"During my time in the Feagin Leadership Program, I learned what a true leader looks like. This leader is not defined by their degree, color of their skin, sexual identity, gender, or socioeconomic status. Instead, leaders are defined based on their integrity, humbleness, and desire to advance a common goal. Leadership is intentional. Leadership is planned. Leadership is practiced."

- Chris Jones, MD, F'14

Orthopedic Surgeon

Kaiser Permanente Medical Group



The Feagin Leadership Program helped develop who I became as a medical leader, instilling in me ideas and leadership techniques to complement the clinical skills that I am learning. I have had numerous interactions over the past year where I had to rely on this training in communicating plans, making difficult decisions, and caring for patients. Just as important, the lessons I learned have also helped me to be a better husband and father which I have found is an integral part of who I am as a physician.

Every day, I witness the results of the Feagin Leadership Program in all facets of my life and for that I am thankful."

-Steve Cook, MD, FL'15

Neurosurgeon, Spine Surgeon

Duke University


"Participating in the Feagin Leadership Forum in 2010-2011 has a tremendous influence on my academic medicine career as an Orthopaedic Surgeon. I have personally seen first hand the value of principles that were introduced through Feagin, including the importance of establishing and MAINTAINING relationships, effectively managing difficult conversations, and the power of successful negotiation. I have become a much better mentor for training residents and medical students and make it a priority to expose them to some of the same concepts I learned at the Feagin Leadership Forum. My favorite time of year is when I return for the annual Feagin Forum, as I leave there each year I am rejuvenated in my path to become a better leader in medicine."

Katherine J. Coyner, MD, FL'11

Feagin Leadership Advisory Board Member

Assistant Professor of Orthopedic Surgery

University of Connecticut Health Center

Notable Accomplishments of our Alumni


Jenny Hauck, FL'15

Dr. Hauck was awarded the Academic Chief Resident Award for the Department of

Anesthesiology at Duke University.


Loretta Erhunmwunsee, FL'15

Dr. Erhunmwunsee was awarded the Peter C. Pairolero Scholarship by the General

Thoracic Surgery Club.


Tom Lefebvre, FL'15

Dr. Lefebvre was awarded the William T. Obremskey Scholarship Award given by the

Bassett Society.


Laura Musselwhite, FL'15

Dr. Musselwhite received the NIH Fogarty Global Health Award and the Califf

Medical Research Award.